Pro-Marcos party wants Comelec approval 2023

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) is expected to approve the accreditation of the Kilusan ng Nagkaisang Pilipino (KNP) as a new political party that would support the programs of President Ferdinand Marcos Jr.

Comelec Chairman George Erwin Garcia stated on Tuesday that the En Banc has already assumed jurisdiction over the petition for accreditation filed by Bacolod City Mayor Alfredo Abelardo Benetiz in the absence of written or in-person opposition during the hearing.

Garcia added, “After they (petitioners) submit a memorandum within five days, the Commission will decide if they will be granted accreditation within one to two weeks.”

Those who support Marcos in politics hope to Acceptance by the Comelec

Garcia stated that, per Comelec regulations, any opposition to the aforementioned accreditation was due by Tuesday, but the Commission did not receive any correspondence from the opposition or any opposing parties during the hearing.

Garcia stated that the Comelec has a new resolution mandating that petitions for accreditation of a political party or party-list group be addressed by the En Banc and delegated to the Division only if there is opposition.

He added that one of the requirements for accreditation is the existence of the party, which the KNP met as attested by citizens in eleven regions of the nation.

Benitez was appointed president of the KNP, which, according to the mayor of Bacolod City, was founded by Marcos administration-supporting members of Congress and other elected officials.

Besides Benitez, the other KNP officials are, according to reports, vice president for Luzon-Pangasinan 6th District Rep. Marlyn Primicias-Agabas; vice president for Visayas-Leyte 4th District Rep.

Richard Gomez; vice president for Mindanao-Zamboanga del Sur 1st District Rep. Divina Grace Yu; and vice president for National Capital Region-Mandaluyong Mayor Benjamin

Secretary general- Cagayan de Oro 2nd District Representative Rufus Rodriguez; deputy secretary general for Luzon- Nueva Ecija 3rd District Representative Ria Vergara; deputy secretary general for NCR-Manila 1st District Representative Manuel Luis Lopez; deputy secretary general for Visayas-Siquijor Representative Zaldy Villa; deputy secretary general for Mindanao-Shirlyn Banas, defeated General Santos mayoral candidate in 2022 elections; treasurer

Leave a Reply